Connect with us


Breaking: Warri Southwest Legislative House Impeaches Leader, Elects 4th Time Member, Pira As New Leader [Photos]



Ogbe-Ijoh_________The Legislative Arm of Warri Southwest Local Government Area, Delta State has impeached Rt. Hon. Odin-Etuwewe Emiko today in a plenary section at the legislative hall.

The impeachment motion was moved by Hon. Raymond Pira, a 4th time member of the house on Complacency, Incompetency, Abuse of Office, Breach of Trust, and Gross Misconduct. The motion was seconded by Hon. (Barr.) Jeffrey Oromoni.

In line with the above, Majority Leader, Hon. Emmanuel Juwegha, Oporoza ward nominated Hon. Raymond Pira, Ogidigben ward to be the new leader, seconded by Hon. Arayi Austine Esigbe popularly known as Papa Council.

Though, Emiko protested his impeachment motion as the Deputy Leader, Hon. Governor Stanley Warenanawei briefly presided to elect and inaugurate Hon. Raymond Pira from Ogidigben ward 6 as the new leader, Warri Southwest Legislative Arm. Consequently, the oath of office was administered on the new leader by clerk of the house, Mrs. Maureen O. Oweh.


While speaking after taking over leadership of the house, Pira extolled God for the peaceful coordination by honourable members of the house. He also appreciated his colleagues for their support and push for a new leadership that would actually set the compact right.

He also stated that his emergence as the leader doesn’t mean that he’s the most vibrant, intelligent or all-knowing but just a privilege from God with the support of colleagues.

Pira promised that his leadership would create no vacuum for complacency, but will rather operate an all-inclusive system that would right the ethics and spelt out lines of law-making as the primary function.

The new leader also suspended Emiko over his attempt to damage the symbol of authority, the mace and other acts exhibited to disrupt the plenary, as the clerk of the house was directed to do the necessary.

However, 15 out of the 20 councilors at this time of report signed the motion that impeached the former leader. See collated signatures below:


The plenary continued with precedence with the new leader presiding over the precedings as calmness and sanity characterized the legislative atmosphere.

Meanwhile, Hon. Emmanuel Juwegha, the Majority Leader moved for the adjournment of plenary to Monday 25th July, 2022, and seconded by Hon. Arayi Austine Esigbe, Deghele ward 9 as the section came to a close with prayer by Hon. (Barr.) Jeffrey Oromoni.

Some photos from the plenary:

The People’s Voice Ngr reports…….

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

People's Voice © 2017