Connect with us


Gov. Okowa Swears In 11 Commissioners, Charges Them To Shun Mutual Suspicion, Distrust, Exclusion, Resentment



The Executive Governor of Delta State, Dr. Sen. Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa Today at the state capital, Asaba sworn in 11 commissioners. Okowa had dissolved the state executive council for reasons best known to him about two months ago.

The Governor in his inaugural speech charged the commissioners to be committed to the key policies of his (Okowa’s) administration.

He noted that the government has achieved much in the areas of infrastructure and entrepreneurship training to better the lots of Deltans, keeping tab with the prosperity mantra but admitted there’s a lot more to cover to tackle the problems of youth unemployment, widespread of poverty, and social cohesion.

“To all the Commissioners, it’s my hope you justify the confidence that has been reposed on you with this appointment.

“With less than 2 years to the terminal of this administration, every minute counts as we strive to deliver our goals and promises to the good people of Delta State.


“Moreover, as you commence your stewardship today, make it a priority to allowing yourself with the ideals and ideas to the key policy trust of this administration.”

In addition, Okowa charged the commissioners to be cautious in their relationship with all to create a viable environment.

“In your utterances and actions, develop a work environment devoid of mutual suspicion, distrust, exclusion, and resentment.

“This administration is passionate and believe the peaceful coexistence, hence you should be good ambassadors of this administration, congratulations to you all”, he concluded.

The eleven commissioners are:


Prof. Patrick Muoboghare, Hon. Chika Ossai, Hon. Basil Ganagana, Chief Emmanuel Amgbaduba, Dr. Mordi Ononye, Hon. Ovie Oghoore, Barr. (Mrs) Bridget Ayanfulu, Hon. Solomon Golley, Barr. Isaiah Bozimo, Hon. Henry Sakpara, Barr. Jennifer Oma Adasen.

Meanwhile, eighteen commissioners had been sworn in, totalling 29 members of the State Executive Council, and seven out of this number are women.

Prof. Patrick Muoboghare responded on behalf of the newly sworn in commissioners. He thanked God for the appointment and appreciated the governor for the confidence in them to serve.

Thepeoplesvoicengr was on ground to cover the swearing-in ceremony.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

People's Voice © 2017