Connect with us


Breaking News: Buhari Retires Service Chiefs, Announces Replacements



Today, Tuesday 26th January, 2021, the Nigerian presidency in an unexpected move retires all service chiefs, and consequently announces their replacements.

According to a statement by presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, in Abuja, the president has accepted their retirement from service.

The service chiefs involved include: Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

However, President Muhammadu Buhari appreciated the outgoing Service Chiefs for their service to their fatherland in what he refers as their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” and wishes them well in their future engagements.

The newly appointed Service Chiefs comprise Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.


The president congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and committed in the performance of their military functions for a better and more peaceful Nigeria.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

People's Voice © 2017